High Cup

After a big ride yesterday, I set my ambitions a little lower: local and shorter, but still big mountain wild country riding. I parked up at (a very low) Cow Green reservoir and did an out-and-back to the spectacular High Cup.

IMG_1610.jpg
I’ve never seen the reservoir this low
IMG_1612.jpg
But the reservoir is still putting water into Cauldron Snout to keep the Tees flowing

Once at the bridge over Maize Beck, I decided it would be fun to explore the bridleway on the north side of the beck. I hadn’t realized until today that the bridge is actually a “new” bridge (wasn’t there when I walked the Pennine Way in the late ‘80’s), and the north side of the beck was the main path, heading to the “old” bridge over a beautiful limestone gorge.

En-route, I met a guy cycling the other way over the featureless moor. While I was riding a fat bike, eminently suited to this terrain. The guy I met was on a touring bike: absolutely bonkers, but impressive!

FullSizeRender.jpg
… and I was struggling on the fat bike!

IMG_1623.jpg

IMG_1631.jpg
Peat cornice

After taking Sunday lunch at the limestone gorge (a cup of coffee and a few squares of chocolate), and riding on to High Cup to appreciate the view, it was time to head home.

IMG_1637.jpg
Amazing limestone gorge

IMG_1647.jpg

IMG_1667.jpg
Not a bad lunch spot!

IMG_1677.JPG

IMG_1688.JPG
Always spectacular

IMG_1693.jpg

Finally, riding up by the reservoir, I took time out to enjoy the wild flowers. Teesdale is truly beautiful.

IMG_1696

IMG_1698.jpg

IMG_1706.JPG

IMG_1710.jpg

Screen Shot 2017-05-07 at 19.47.20.png

https://www.relive.cc/view/975539598

