The Hell of the North (East)

Back home after two years of Slough!  Before I even get in the house, Alistair drops me a hint I may want to participate in a local ride based on the Spring Classic, the Paris-Roubaix (AKA The Hell of the North).  Not wanting to miss such an opportunity, I’m in!

Based on the ethos of the infamous Paris-Roubaix event, we’re going to run our own “Hell of the North (East)”. The route will be 100kms/62 miles of seriously challenging riding on a mix of tarmac, cobbles, farm tracks, bridleways and wagonways. The ride starts and finishes at The Cycle Hub in Newcastle. We will have 2 guides to run the ride and to help smooth out any problems (except the cobbles, of course). The ride is free to join but numbers are strictly limited.

We would encourage you to ride either a cyclocross bike or a road bike (fitted with 25mm, or bigger, tyres), as this fits better with the ethos of the Paris-Roubaix, which is to ride entirely unsuitable bikes along entirely unsuitable routes! Mountain Bikers are obviously welcome to attend, but should be aware that this will be considered as cheating!

Image

This will be the week after riding the Ronde van Vlaanderen, so I guess I may need a comfy cushion once these two are complete.

Please support me (raising money for The Outward Bound Trust) by sponsoring me.

