Spring Daffodils!

In April I’m off to the Pott Shrigley High Polymers Research Group Conference, where there will be a number of top academics who ride bikes far better than I ever will (you know who you are!).  So in addition to the training I’ll get at the conference, I just spotted last night that there is a nice event the day before in the North Yorkshire Moors, the Daffodils Sportive.  Needing as much training as possible, I’ve entered (for the long route of course).  It looks pretty tough: “The Long route of course offers the most serious challenge and Blakey Bank will not disappoint those looking for a challenge!”

long-3D-View-markers

Remember, I’m doing this as preparation for my attempt at Land’s End to John O’Groats in September (969 miles in 9 days).  As part of Team Dulux, we’re raising money for The Outward Bound Trust. This is a charity that gets young people from backgrounds where they have never experienced the great outdoors to take part in activities such as hiking, climbing and kayaking in some of our beautiful countryside. Typically this results in increased confidence, resilience and social well-being. It might even result in a lifetime of enjoyment in such places! Given how much I enjoy being out in the countryside, I’m proud to be raising money to help others experience some of the places and activities I’ve enjoyed over the years. Please help me reach my fundraising target by supporting this cause.

